STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

In the Matter of
CONSENT ORDER

Edward Burns,

NPN 8285102, CASE NO. AG-16-620

Respondent.

TO: Edward Burns, 5151 San Felipe, Suite 700, Houston, TX 77056

Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm (“Commissioner”) has determined as follows:

1. As a result of information obtained by the North Dakota Insurance
Department (‘Department”) regarding the conduct of Edward Burns, NPN 8285102
(“Respondent”), the Commissioner has considered scheduling a formal hearing to
determine whether Respondent’s conduct as alleged constitutes a basis for imposition of a
civil penalty or any other action the Commissioner deems necessary. As more fully
described below, Respondent’s conduct is alleged to be in violation of N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-
15, 26.1-26-42(1), and 26.1-26-45.1(1).

2. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-15 requires that an applicant for any license must be
deemed by the Commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of
good personal and business reputation.

3. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42 states, in part:

The commissioner may suspend, revoke, place on probation,
or refuse to continue or refuse to issue any license issued
under this chapter if, after notice to the licensee and hearing,

the commissioner finds as to the licensee any of the following
conditions:
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1. A materially untrue statement in the license
application.

4, N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-45.1 states, in part:

26.1-26-45.1. Reporting of actions.

1. An insurance producer shall report to the commissioner
any administrative action taken against the insurance
producer's license in another jurisdiction or by another
governmental agency in this state within thirty days of
the final disposition of the matter. This report must
include a copy of the order, consent to order, or other
relevant legal documents.

5. On or about February 17, 2016, Respondent submitted an application to
renew a nonresident surplus lines producer license. On the renewal application,
Respondent answered “no” to background question two relating to ever being named or
involved as a party in an administrative proceeding regarding any professional or
occupational license or registration. During a review of the application, it was discovered
that on or about June 18, 2015, Virginia revoked Respondent’s producer license for failing
to timely file an Annual Maintenance Assessment Report. The Virginia administrative action
should have been reported to North Dakota within 30 days and it was not. The Virginia
administrative action should have also been disclosed on Respondent’s renewal application
and it was not. Respondent’s failure to report an administrative action within 30 days and to
disclose an administrative action on a renewal application is in violation of N.D.C.C. §§
26.1-26-15, 26.1-26-42(1), and 26.1-26-45.1(1).

6. On or about October 7, 2015, Delaware fined Respondent $500 for failing to
disclose the Virginia administrative action on an application. The Delaware administrative
action should have been reported to North Dakota within 30 days and it was not. The

Delaware administrative action should have also been disclosed on Respondent’s renewal

application and it was not. Respondent's failure to report an administrative action within 30
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days and to disclose an administrative action on a renewal application is in violation of
N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-15, 26.1-26-42(1), and 26.1-26-45.1(1).

e Respondent’s actions constitute violations of N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-15, 26.1-
26-42(1), and 26.1-26-45.1(1).

8. Respondent acknowledges that at the time of signing the Consent to Entry of
Order, he was aware of or had been advised of the right to a hearing in this matter, to
consult an attorney, to present argument to the Commissioner, to appeal from any adverse
determination after a hearing, and Respondent expressly waives those rights.

9. Respondent has agreed to informal disposition of this matter, without a
hearing, as provided under N.D.C.C. § 28-32-22.

10.  For purposes of resolving this matter without further administrative
proceedings, Respondent has agreed to enter into the following order.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

T4 Respondent agrees to pay a fine in the amount of $400 payable by money
order, cashier’s check, or credit card to the North Dakota Insurance Department within 20
days of the effective date of this Order.

2. The use of this Consent Order for competitive purposes by an insurance
producer or agency holding a license in the State of North Dakota, or by any company
holding a Certificate of Authority, or by anyone on their behalf, may be deemed unfair

competition and be grounds for suspension or revocatign of said license or authority.

DATED at Bismarck, North Dakota, this Q day of :Ql,Y , 2016.
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CONSENT TO ENTRY OF ORDER

The undersigned, Edward Burns, states that he has read the foregoing Consent
Order, that he knows and fully understands its contents and effect; that he has been
advised of the right to a hearing in this matter, the right to be represented by legal counsel,
the right to present evidence and arguments to the Commissioner, and the right to appeal
from an adverse determination after hearing; and that by the signing of this Consent to
Entry of Order he waives those rights in their entirety, and consents to entry of this Order by
the Commissioner. It is further expressly understood that this
Order constitutes the entire settlement agreement between the parties, there being no other
promises or agreements, either expressed or implied.

DATED this 2 3% day of Jone . 2016.

/C:/W

Edward Burns

County of qu ﬁdl]‘g
State of ___ TIEXAL

Subscied and sworn (w;%n tﬁ'ﬁs 23 day of JUAJE 1 2016.

Notary Public

My commission expires: [l/lo/z,é,c’

¢, KAUNTEY PATEL
by "': MY COMMISSION EXPIRES
% ¢ DECEMEBER 10, 2019

Consent Order — Burns 4



